Graduation Memories

Taking AJ to gymnastics tonight I drove past our town’s university (as I always do) and noticed that graduation was in full swing. I was reminded of my graduation almost 15 years ago. Seeing the students (or graduates as they now are) in their gowns, that were the same as mine made me smile and think back to what my day was like.

I don’t remember much of the day, my parents took me & NJ out for dinner (although that may have been the night before) and I remember siting in the Town Hall waiting to hear my discipline read out and then my name, it felt strange sitting there, but that is another story.

My biggest memory of the day comes after my parents had headed for home, and a few of us were left in the Students Union still drinking and still in our smart attire. NJ got down on one knee and asked me to marry him, (I told him to get up, he would get his suit dirty), I didn’t believe him at first but he insisted it was real and took my amethyst ring off my right hand and put it on my left hand. I did say yes, even though we had only been together for 6 months I knew that he was ‘the one’ and it was what I wanted. I don’t remember much else apart from lots of alcohol flowing, excited friends and many phone calls to friends and family. There was no facebook, or mobile phones for me to get the information out quickly without actually talking to people. If I remember rightly we had beans on toast for our tea and then headed out again to celebrate at the student unions night club.

It wasn’t a romantic proposal, and it wasn’t a planned proposal, NJ will often say that he was drunk, and had taken painkillers, so he wasn’t thinking straight, but whether that was true or not, the proposal was not taken back and almost 15 years later we have 3 children and are still together.

They are my memories of the day / event, it might be interesting if NJ would write a post on his memories and see if we remember it the same.

What was your biggest memory of your graduation?

Leave a Reply

